Foundations of Practice
Level OneLevel TwoLevel Three

About This Level

Areas of Specialization and Emphasis

Areas of Specialization and Emphasis, level three of the Foundations of Practice in Community Development program, focuses on the specific content areas of community development. As Extension professionals become proficient in the first two components, many will likely expand their effectiveness as community development professionals by specializing in one or more areas.

The general specialization categories include:

  • Economic Development (including entrepreneurship, business retention and expansion, tourism, etc.)
  • Local Government
  • Natural Resources (including land use)
  • Group Process and Facilitation
  • Organizational Development (working with nonprofits)
  • Leadership and Civic Engagement (including conflict management and public issues education)
  • Community Services
  • Workforce Development

These programs are offered through regional workshops and multistate interest groups.