RIDGE Center
Call for Proposals

RIDGE Center for Targeted Studies @ the SRDC – 2011 Research Grant Opportunities

The RIDGE Center for Targeted Studies @ the SRDC, in partnership with USDA Economic Research Service, is pleased to announce the availability of TWO competitive grant programs for 2011.

This exciting new program is intended to support research (in the U.S.) by graduate students pursuing doctoral research in areas that closely align with the priorities of the RIDGE Center for Targeted Studies. Students currently enrolled in a PhD program from an accredited U.S. institution of higher education are eligible to apply for the RIDGE Center Doctoral Dissertation Research Grant Program. However, an applicant must have completed all formal work related to his/her area of study and be at the "All But Dissertation" (ABD) stage of the doctoral program. The document above provides detailed information on the procedures for applying for this valuable new RIDGE Center activity.

As in past years, the SRDC RIDGE Center is seeking to invest in innovative social sciences-based research that explores the dimensions of the food and nutrition assistance challenges impacting residents (or communities) in rural America, including key populations such as Native Americans, immigrants, other racial/ethnic minorities, single parents, youth, the persistently poor, and others. For 2011, the RIDGE Center for Targeted Studies is interested in proposals that focus on one, or a combination, of the following three regions of the U.S. – North Central, Southern and Western regions of the country. For more information on this year's research priorities and details of the application process, please check out the document above:

Want to Learn More about These Grant Opportunities?
Take Part in Our Upcoming Webinars

We encourage you to participate in one of the upcoming webinars being hosted by the RIDGE Center in March. The webinars are intended to showcase this year's competitive grant program and respond to questions that potential applicants might have about the two 2011 RIDGE Center for Targeted Studies competitive grant programs. The live webinars are scheduled on the following dates:

  • March 15th – 1:00 p.m. Eastern / 12 Noon Central / 11 a.m. Mountain / 10 a.m. Pacific
  • March 23rd – 1:00 p.m. Eastern / 12 Noon Central / 11 a.m. Mountain / 10 a.m. Pacific

Persons wishing to participate in the RIDGE webinar are encouraged to access the following website approximately 20-30 minutes prior to the start of the webinar to ensure that they are able to successful connect to the Adobe Connect webinar site.

http://msues.na4.acrobat.com/srdc/

In addition, participants are asked to call the toll free number just prior to the start of the webinar in order to hear the audio portion of the RIDGE Center presentation. The number will be posted on the Adobe Connect site. Both webinars will cover the same content.

RIDGE Center

ERS

The Economic Research Service provides Research Innovation and Development Grants in Economics to stimulate innovative research on food and nutrition assistance issues. The SRDC is one of two partnership institutions.